Skip To Main Content







Landing Nav



News from Prior-Lake Savage Area Schools

PLSAS is 2023 Farm to School District of the Year

Prior Lake-Savage Area Schools is the winner of the 2023 Minnesota Grown Farm to School District of the Year contest by the Minnesota Department of Agriculture’s (MDA) Minnesota Grown Program!

The Minnesota Grown Farm to School District of the Year contest celebrates school districts for their work to increase access to Minnesota Grown foods, teach about and celebrate local agriculture, and support Minnesota producers. Judging was based on several factors, including the variety of local foods offered in school meals, the number of producers the districts buy from, and activities they do to promote and teach about local foods. Judges also looked at how the districts celebrated Minnesota Grown foods and producers during National Farm to School Month in October.

To read the full press release, go here:

PLSAS celebrates Inclusive Schools Week

Prior Lake-Savage Area Schools recognizes the important role every staff person plays in making a difference in the lives of students and families. This month, we recognize December 4-8 as Inclusive Schools Week.

This recognition serves to acknowledge all staff who work to make our schools welcoming environments and personalize learning to meet the unique needs of every student. Appreciation also extends to families who contribute to helping us build on the successes of our inclusive school communities.

Thank you to our PLSAS staff and families for helping all students reach their full potential!

Congratulations to the 2023-2024 PLSAS Teachers of the Year!

Congratulations to the 2023-2024 Prior Lake-Savage Area Schools Teachers of the Year as selected by their colleagues!

Caitlin Gardner - Five Hawks Elementary
Becky Gordon - WestWood Elementary
Kevin Humbert - La ola del lago at Grainwood
Heather LaRue - Hamilton Ridge Elementary
Andrew Martin - Bridges Area Learning Center
Gina Schumacher - Glendale Elementary
Sherri Seidensticker - Jeffers Pond Elementary
Courtney Stephens - Edgewood
Maria Sullivan - Redtail Ridge Elementary
Lisa Swope - Twin Oaks Middle School
Joel Volm - Prior Lake High School
Allison Wenderski - Hidden Oaks Middle School

PLHS Technology Education Department receives Laker Impact Grant

During the Laker Pride portion of the November 13 School Board meeting, the Laker Educational Foundation received a grant from the ECMC Foundation to be used for their Laker Impact Grant. This grant was used to purchase equipment for the Prior Lake High School Technology Education Department.

Prior Lake High School Technology Education teacher Dan Sikowski was present to speak on behalf of the Technology Education Department. This gift will allow students to learn metalworking processes in a classroom with improved safety that is closely aligned to industry standards. We are so excited to see how this equipment will be utilized in the classroom in the coming weeks and months!

23 PLHS student-athletes sign National Letters of Intent

Congratulations to these 23 Prior Lake High School student-athletes who signed National Letters of Intent (NLI) this morning!

The NLI is a document used to indicate a student-athlete’s commitment to participate at an NCAA college or university.

Hayden Anthony - Baseball - University of Minnesota, Duluth

Linus Fleek - Baseball - Regis University

Hudson Johnson - Baseball - University of Cincinnati

Caden Loy - Baseball - University of Northwestern-St. Paul

Matthew Totten - Baseball - Purdue University

Julia Thoms - Basketball - University of Jamestown

CeCe McNair - Basketball - University of Wisconsin, Milwaukee

Samantha Berndt - Cross Country - Viterbo University

Olivia Hansen - Hockey - University of Wisconsin, River Falls

Max Anderson - Lacrosse - Lewis University

Owen Meyer - Lacrosse - Aurora University

Jack Tocko - Lacrosse - University of Indianapolis

Sadie Chappuis - Lacrosse - Colorado Mesa University

Lana Disrud - Lacrosse - Niagara University

Kayleigh Sandell - Lacrosse - Grand Valley State University

Tyler Leonard - Soccer - University of North Carolina, Asheville

Keira Olabode - Soccer - University of Minnesota, Duluth

Isabelle Ohlmann - Soccer - George Washington University

Courtney Hennen - Softball - Northern State University

Brooke Thompson - Softball - Berry College

Hannah Cole - Track and Field - University of Wisconsin, Stout

Addyson White - Track and Field - Penn State University

Ella Joesting - Volleyball - University of Dayton